ICBA Community Banker of the Year


Community bankers are the superheroes of their communities. Their strength supports the economic well-being of their towns, cities and neighborhoods. They lift new businesses off the ground, they have the endurance to make it through economic ups and downs, and the agility to take on new ideas and technologies.

The ICBA Community Banker of the Year award is to recognize the superheroes among our members on a national level.

This award is for bankers who show:

AGILITY – in bringing teams together to obtain better results

STRENGTH – in their dedication to the organization’s success

SUPER SPEED – in embracing change and innovation

ADAPTABILITY – in being creative, resourceful and impactful

2018 Community Banker of the Year Winners

The 2018 ICBA Community Banker of the Year is:

Ken LaRoe

Founder, Chairman and CEO
First GREEN Bank, Orlando, Florida
Twitter:  @GreenBankCEO @FirstGreenBank

2018 Regional Award Winners


Stanley Wilmoth

President/CEO, Heritage Bank of Nevada, Reno, NV


Josh Rowland

CEO and Vice Chairman of Lead Bank, Kansas City, MO
Twitter: @JoshRowlandKC @Lead_Bank


Scott McComb

Chairman, President and CEO of Heartland Bank, Whitehall, OH
Twitter: @gscottmccomb @Heartlandbank

Nomination Criteria

Candidates are nominated via a website submission form. 

  • Any community banker, in any position can be nominated for the award. 
  • Self-nominations are accepted.
  • Anyone can nominate a community banker for consideration.
  • Videos are welcome: The nominator is welcome to submit a video submission if they choose.

Download tips for next year's nomination

Awards & Recognition

The 2018 ICBA Community Banker of the Year winner will:

  • Receive a prestigious crystal award
  • Be recognized by thousands of community bankers and financial industry advocates at the 2019 ICBA LIVE® convention in Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Will receive a complimentary registration for the 2019 ICBA LIVE convention.
  • The National Winner will receive complimentary airfare to the 2019 ICBA LIVE convention.
  • Be featured in the December 2018 Independent Banker® magazine.
  • Be announced in an ICBA press release.
  • Be featured in ICBA’s NewsWatch Today and Member Access e-newsletters.
  • Be recognized nationwide as a community bank superhero.

Past Winners

The 2017 ICBA Community Banker of the Year is:

Joe Fazio

Commerce State Bank
West Bend, WI

2017 ICBA Community Banker of the Year

2017 Regional Award Winners


Christopher Palmer

Pioneer Bank
Roswell, NM

Christopher Palmer Community Banker of the Year


Peter Nelson

Glenwood State Bank
Glenwood, MN

Peter Nelson Community banker of the Year


Kathy Underwood

Ledyard Bank
Hanover, NH

Kathy Underwood Community Banker of the Year

2016 Winners

Community Banker
of 2016

Jeff Oody

Community State Bank
Starke, FL

Regional Award Winner

Benjamin Nelson

Senior Vice President
D.L. Evans Bank
Burley, ID

Regional Award Winner

Todd Langenfeld

President and CEO
Farmers Trust & Savings Bank
Earling, IA

Regional Award

Michael Kochenour

York Traditions Bank
York, PA