ICBA - News - News Release - ICBA Applauds FDIC’s Timely Formation of Advisory Committee on Community Banking
ICBA News Release Header


ICBA Applauds FDIC’s Timely Formation of Advisory Committee on Community Banking

Two ICBA Leadership Bankers Named to Committee

Washington, D.C. (September 18, 2009)—The Independent Community Bankers of America (ICBA) today applauded the FDIC for selecting community bank leaders to serve on the FDIC’s newly established Advisory Committee on Community Banking. The committee will advise the FDIC on important policy issues affecting community banks and the communities they serve.

“ICBA applauds the FDIC for its timely formation of the Advisory Committee on Community Banking, which recognizes the vital role of community banks within their communities and the broader financial system,” said R. Michael Menzies, ICBA chairman and president and CEO of Easton Bank and Trust Co., Easton, Md. “The community bank committee members announced today are leaders in the community banking industry who will do a tremendous job helping ensure community banks continue to have the ability and wherewithal to serve their customers in cities and towns throughout America.”

Two ICBA leadership bankers were selected to participate on the committee. Jack E. Hopkins, president and CEO of CorTrust Bank, N.A., Sioux Falls, S.D., is a member of the ICBA 2009-2010 Executive Committee, and Rebeca Romero Rainey, chair and CEO of Centinel Bank of Taos in Taos, N.M., is vice chairman of ICBA’s Lending Committee. In addition, several community bankers from ICBA member banks were named to the committee. These bankers are Charles G. Brown, III, chairman and CEO of Insignia Bank in Sarasota, Fla.; Deborah A. Cole, president and CEO of Citizens Savings Bank & Trust Co. in Nashville, Tenn.; Craig M. Goodlock, chairman and CEO of Farmers State Bank in Munith, Mich.; James H. Gray, chairman of Beach Business Bank in Manhattan Beach, Calif. and Bruce A. Schriefer, president of Bankers' Bank of Kansas, N.A. in Wichita, Kansas.

"ICBA’s community bank members are outstanding advocates for both ICBA and community banks nationwide,” said Camden R. Fine, ICBA President and CEO. “ICBA congratulates these ICBA community bank members who have been named to the FDIC’s Advisory Committee on Community Banking. They will undoubtedly serve the committee and Main Street community banks well.”

ICBA looks forward to working with the committee in its efforts to identify and prioritize issues of concern for community banks.

For more information, visit www.icba.org.